Date of Award


Document Type


Degree Name

Master of Science


Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

First Advisor

Mark A. Kanko, PhD


As defense budgets decrease and it is required to do more with less, the Air Force has chosen to use the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA) as the basis for implementing quality principles. The Air Force program is known as Quality Air Force (QAF), and the criteria are referred to as the QAF criteria DEPA95b. At about the same time the Department of the Air Force implemented QAF, the software leaders in the Air Force adopted the Capability Maturity Model for Software (CMM) as the internal standard for Air Force software organizations MOSE9l. Software organizations strapped with both sets of requirements struggle with how to implement both models. Many organizations implement redundant programs in an effort to satisfy both. This research uses signature and specification matching techniques gleaned from the software reuse domain to integrate the CMM and QAF criteria into a single set of requirements that correlate to both models.

AFIT Designator


DTIC Accession Number